Valentina Matvienko: Senators are ready to promote inter-parliamentary dialogue with Armenian colleagues

Federation Council Speaker had a meeting with the President of the National Assembly of Armenia.

Federation Council Speaker Valentina Matvienko had a meeting with President of the National Assembly of the Republic of Armenia Alen Simonyan.

Valentina Matvienko noted that Moscow and Yerevan maintained a dynamic and substantive political dialogue, primarily at the top level.

The Speaker expressed satisfaction with Russian-Armenian parliamentary collaboration. She praised the work done by the bilateral Inter-Parliamentary Commission for Cooperation, whose 35th meeting was held in Krasnoyarsk in July of this year. “It is important to take an immediate action to prepare and coordinate an actionable agenda for the 36th meeting scheduled for early 2023 in Armenia.”

Valentina Matvienko noted that the parliamentary delegations cooperate well enough at international venues and common integration associations in the post-Soviet space with a parliamentary dimension. In her opinion, both parties should focus on aligning efforts within the Collective Security Treaty Organisation (CSTO). The Speaker drew the attention of Alen Simonyan to the growing role of the EAEU. Anti-Russia rhetoric of any kind in the information space was also criticised as unacceptable.

The officials discussed cultural ties, specifically the need to increase the number of Russian school textbooks and Russian schools in the Republic of Armenia and improve the quality of language instruction.

“We support Yerevan’s striving to deal with emerging challenges in an allied spirit and to consistently promote mutually beneficial cooperation,” Valentina Matvienko said.

Alen Simonyan noted that the parliamentarians of both countries are ready for an open and candid dialogue.

The meeting was attended by Chair of the Federation Council Committee on Foreign Affairs Grigory Karasin, First Deputy Chair of the Federation Council Committee on Foreign Affairs Vladimir Dzhabarov, First Deputy Chair of the Federation Council Committee on Constitutional Legislation and State Building Vladimir Poletayev, First Deputy Chair of the Federation Council Committee on Defence and Security Vladimir Chizhov, Deputy Chair of the Federation Council Committee on Federal Structure, Regional Policy, Local Government and Northern Affairs Dmitry Kuzmin, and member of the Federation Council Committee on Social Policy Andrey Chernyshev.

See also